Common

Book reviews

“In addition to many entertaining details, the book shows us the tragic consequences of the lack of effective media work. Just take a look at the case of the former Pro-Sieben (private German TV channel) moderator Andreas Türck. He was legally cleared of all rape allegations, but since then has only been seen working behind the camera. The book is definitely worth a read and can serve press speakers, PR people, and lawyers as an excellent source of reference.”
Hendrick Wieduwilt, quoted in: Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung, January 26, 2009

 

“This book is well written and has depth, and is filled with the two author’s expertise in PR and legal issues. In over 17 chapters, on the basis of various current cases and interviews, they describe the many aspects of the interaction between the law and the press. We learn how PR can, in a more or less subtle way, influence the official search for the truth by creating symbolic truths with the help of the media. This is a great achievement that breaks taboos, making this book worth reading and discussing.”
Neue Juristische Wochenzeitschrift

 

“So far, nobody has as clearly illuminated the work in this field. The two author’s exceptional knowledge of the business and their involvement in pivotal past and current cases has to be acknowledged. And they sure as hell know the weak spots of the media. And the findings of their analyses of professional journals are immense – especially the journals from the USA, where this business has naturally already come a long way.”
F.A.Z. editor Dr. Joachim Jahn,
quoted in ANWALTSBLATT 3/2009

 

“Interesting not only for the ‘usual suspects’, but also for all who – together with their companies – are in the public eye.”
medien aktuell,
December 2008

Stimmen zum Buch

„Neben unterhaltsamen Details wie diesen zeigt das Buch auch tragische Konsequenzen unzureichender Medienarbeit, wie den Fall des früheren Pro-Sieben-Moderators Andreas Türck. Der wurde juristisch zwar von allen Vergewaltigungsvorwürfen freigesprochen, arbeitet seitdem aber nur noch hinter der Kamera. … Das Buch lohnt sich als Lesebuch für Pressesprecher, PR-Leute und Anwälte.“
Hendrik Wieduwilt, Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung

 

„PR sachverständig und auf juristisch festem Fundament flüssig und mit Tiefgang geschrieben erläutern die Autoren in 17 Kapiteln anhand vieler aktueller Fälle und Interviews die mannigfaltigen Aspekte der Interaktion von Recht und Presse und zeigen ungefärbt, wie PR die formelle Wahrheitsfindung durch mediale Erzeugung symbolischer Wahrheiten mehr oder weniger subtil beeinflusst. Das ist ein ebenso großer Verdienst wie Tabubruch, was das Buch gleichermaßen lesens- und diskutierenswert macht.“
Neue Juristische Wochenzeitschrift

 

„Noch niemand hat die Arbeitsweise dieser Sparte so transparent und umfassend dargelegt wie diese beiden Schreiber. Dass sie ungewöhnlich viel von ihrem Geschäft verstehen und an zentralen Fällen beteiligt waren bzw. sind, muss ihnen bestätigt werden. Die Schwachstellen von Medien kennen sie ebenfalls verdammt genau. Und der Fundus der von ihnen ausgewerteten Fachpublikationen ist immens – nicht zuletzt solcher aus den USA, wo dieses Gewerbe naturgemäß besonders weit gediehen ist.“
F.A.Z. Redakteur Dr. Joachim Jahn im ANWALTSBLATT

 

„Spannend nicht nur für die „üblichen Verdächtigen”, sondern für alle, die mit ihren Unternehmen öffentlich beachtet werden.“
medien aktuell