Litigation PR in Criminal and Civil Law

Litigation PR must take into consideration the characteristics and differences of criminal and civil law.

In criminal law, effective strategic legal communication can help to exonerate the client and thus defend the client against the prosecutors.

In civil law, effective litigation PR can help to ward off or win existing claims.

Be it in the sphere of criminal or civil law, litigation PR can definitely influence the judicial climate to the advantage of the client, for judges, assessors, jury members, district lawyers and witnesses also watch the media.


Criminal Law:

Within criminal law, litigation PR focuses on supporting the defendant long-term. In doing so, litigation PR can become a highly effective instrument of defense: during the investigation phase, it provides a necessary corrective to the sovereignty of information and interpretation of the department of public prosecution; furthermore, exonerating information can be obtained with the help of litigation PR.

In this way the initial advantage that the department of public prosecution has in the media can be lessened, and information can be added or newly adjusted. It has been proven that litigation PR can influence the course of investigation of the department of public prosecution.

As there are often well-founded doubts in regard to the neutrality of the latter, one of the primary tasks of litigation PR is to correct the perception of the defendant in the eyes of the public and the rest of the parties to the proceedings.

Civil Law:

Even in extremely complex legal cases involving controversial issues and high values, powerful and effective litigation PR can definitely succeed in bringing the parties to the dispute together to reach a settlement.

Postulated claims can successfully be strengthened through effective litigation PR, in regard to the legal opponent as well as the public.

In the case of weak and shaky facts of a case, effective litigation PR can – in acting as a deterrent – play a part in helping the claimant recognize his weak position and lack of public support early on and thus refrain from legal proceedings or a lawsuit.

Litigation-PR im Straf- und Zivilrecht

Litigation-PR muss die Besonderheiten und Unterschiede des Straf- und des Zivilrechts berücksichtigen.

Im Strafrecht hilft eine wirkungsvolle, strategische Rechtskommunikation, den Mandanten zu entlasten und dadurch gegenüber den Anklägern zu verteidigen.

Im Zivilrecht kann eine effektive Litigation-PR helfen, bestehende Ansprüche abzuwehren oder zu gewinnen.

Ob in der strafrechtlichen oder der zivilrechtlichen Sphäre: Litigation-PR kann das gerichtliche Klima durchaus im Sinne des Mandanten beeinflussen, denn auch Richter, Beisitzer, Schöffen, Staatsanwälte und Zeugen nutzen Medien.

Strafrecht

Im Strafrecht konzentriert sich die Rolle der Litigation-PR auf die nachhaltige Unterstützung des Angeklagten.

Dabei kann sie zu einem extrem wirkungsvollen Instrument der Verteidigung werden: Litigation-PR liefert ein notwendiges Korrektiv zur Informations- und Deutungshoheit der Staatsanwaltschaft während der Ermittlungsphase und mit ihrer Hilfe lassen sich entlastende Informationen beschaffen. Damit kann der mediale Vorsprung der Staatsanwaltschaft gegenüber der Verteidigung aufgeholt, ergänzt und neu ausgerichtet werden.

Litigation-PR kann erwiesenermaßen die Ermittlungsrichtung der Staatsanwaltschaft beeinflussen. Da es häufig begründete Zweifel an der Neutralität der Staatsanwaltschaft gibt, ist es eine vordringliche Aufgabe der Litigation-PR, die Perzeption des Angeklagten in der Öffentlichkeit und bei den übrigen Verfahrensbeteiligten gezielt zu korrigieren.


Zivilrecht

Eine mächtige, effektive Litigation-PR kann es durchaus schaffen, dass sich die streitenden Parteien bei Fällen mit brisanten Themen, hohen Streitwerten und extremer Komplexität an den Tisch setzen, um einen Vergleich auszuhandeln.

Postulierte Ansprüche können durch eine effektive Litigation-PR wirkungsvoll unterstrichen werden, sowohl gegenüber dem juristischen Gegner als auch in der Öffentlichkeit.

Bei einem schwachen, zweifelhaften Sachverhalt kann eine effektive Litigation-PR mit ihrem Abschreckungspotenzial auch dazu beitragen, dass Anspruchssteller ihre schwache Position und ausbleibende öffentliche Unterstützung rechtzeitig erkennen und daher konsequent von einem Rechtsstreit oder einem Prozess absehen.